My first Business Class Air Travel

Davis Li
3 min readNov 14, 2022

--

I will unlikely travel in Business Class unless it’s a more-than-8 hours journey. Documenting the first experience as my life’s journal and it was worth that extra money on an SQ33 flight from SFO to Singapore.

The original idea of Business Class is that you can be refreshed the moment you touched down for your business. But it has evolved into a hotly contested premium space for those who wants extra comfort in their travel.

Remember, value is relative from person to person. If money is less of the issue, I will spend it on personal space, safety, and the freedom to change dates for my air travel.

  1. EXTRA SPACIOUS leg room and the seat can be converted into a lie-flat bed. The below person model is 1.65M tall, for your reference.

2. The screen is HUGE, while sitting upright, I cannot even touch the screen, well there isn’t a touch screen, you need an on-board controller or you can link your personal device which I did.

3. Free WIFI via Satellite Internet. Yes! Text, sending photos, social media is fine. But Whatsapp voice and video calls failed which is expected.

4. The turbulence I’d experienced seem to be greatly minimized while lying down sleeping. I have flown Economy class many times to tell you the feeling of turbulence while sitting down is greater than you are sleeping flat. Probably center of gravity changes? The seat can be transformed into a bedding position. You can also charge your devices, link your device via HDMI which I did not try. There is a separate seat belt while you are bedded. But I have not been asked to do so before, I feel rather safe lying flat.

5. Toilets seem to be more available most of the time unless after a meal time OR when someone decides to take their own sweet time. Toilets seem cleaner too, not sure if it’s my perception or did the crew cleans it MORE often?

6. You get a wider selection of wine and champagne. This is something less relevant to me. The meals were also upgraded and they are really nice at least on Singapore Airline.

7. Breakfast from your bed? Yes, the food tray table can be elevated so you can still be in bedding position while having breakfast. Awesome.

Meals while you are still in bed

--

--